Home / World News / Super Sedan Summer Series final goes to Adyme Harvey, young gun Baxter Trouchet wins Kelvin Sobey Memorial

Super Sedan Summer Series final goes to Adyme Harvey, young gun Baxter Trouchet wins Kelvin Sobey Memorial

Adyme Harvey claimed victory in the final round of the WA Super Sedan Summer Series held at Mt Barker’s Les Gorman Park on Saturday.

A strong field of 17 super sedans contested the series finale in warm conditions at the daylight venue but it was Harvey who led from start to finish in the 20-lap A-main.

The event doubled as the $10,000 Teams Challenge, where competitors split into pairs and accumulated points according to their finishing positions in heat racing and the feature.

Harvey quickly raced to a strong early lead in the final as a terrific battle between Rob Knox, Gary Higgs and Lee Aylett developed.

A heavy crash for rookie driver Bryce Fisher on lap six meant the race was halted for some time before Harvey led the field away at the restart.

Higgs got past Knox to snatch second placed but lapped traffic became a factor in the second half of the final and Harvey’s margin out in front began to reduce.

Aylett made a bold move around the outside of Higgs to take second place and he tried to put the same move on Harvey but the leader was up to the task and held on for a deserving win.

Harvey crossed the line 0.221sec. ahead of Aylett while the WA champion Higgs had to be content with third place.

Knox and Kemble Aylett rounded out the top five in the feature.

Earlier in the day Harvey won two qualifying heats while the other preliminaries went the way of Knox, Higgs, Lee Aylett and Kevin Bell.

In the lucrative Teams Challenge, the pairing of Knox and Nathan Thiele was victorious with 50 points to pocket plenty of cash while Harvey and Steve Larson were second on 39 points, just edging out the combination of Higgs and Fisher (38 points).

Fisher won the Super Sedans WA encouragement award, Ryan Gunson took out the hard charger title and Dustin Higgs won the lucky seven prize.

The Mt Barker Speedway Club also ran the Kelvin Sobey Memorial for the highest point scoring club member at the meeting.

Rising junior competitor Baxter Trochet won the memorial after scoring 123 points.

Trouchet edged out Jarrod Pearce (115 points) and Brock Pearce (110) in the junior division.

Paul Spink was the overall winner of the production sedans, defeating Vickie Sharrock and Dennis Sharrock.

In the street stocks Lincoln Coleman collected 121 points on his way to victory over Tyron Hall and Grant Campbell.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Newcrest Mining reportedly in buyout talks with North American company

A major global gold producer is believed to be eyeing Newcrest Mining, which has reportedly …

%d bloggers like this: