Home / World News / Stellar season rewarded as Williams star Rodney Ford named A-grade Cricketer of the Year in UGSCA

Stellar season rewarded as Williams star Rodney Ford named A-grade Cricketer of the Year in UGSCA

Williams veteran Rodney Ford has been rewarded for a stellar 2021-22 season, recognised as the Cricketer of the Year in the Upper Great Southern Cricket Association.

The UGSCA announced their season award winners at the completion of their grand finals last month and Ford claimed the major A-grade gong after a wonderful regular season where he collected 1192 points.

Ford easily finished on top of the Cricketer of the Year standings, defeating Lake Grace’s Kalan Joyce (891 points) and Pingelly-Noonebin’s Dylan Kirk (770).

Ford also won the batting aggregate award after blasting an impressive 787 runs across the regular season, beating Joyce on 776.

Joyce won the batting average award, with 776 runs at an average of 110.86.

Cuballing seamer Brock Francis won the A-grade bowling aggregate title after snaring 21 wickets in another top season for his side who reached the semifinals.

He edged out brother Grady Francis and Dylan Brooks, who both finished with 19 scalps.

Grady Francis won the bowling average with 11.89 for Cuballing enough to just pip Ford (11.94).

Kirk won man of the match in the grand final.

The under-21 Cricketer of the Year in A-grade was taken out by Towns’ Liam Sweeney with 616 points.

The B-grade awards were dominated by Wagin star and grand final hero Ben Ball.

Ball was crowned Cricketer of the Year after collecting 824 points across to defeat Dumbleyung’s Byron Blevin (764 points) and Wickepin’s Brock Pockran (599).

In the grand final Ball was named man of the match and he also finished with the batting aggregate trophy after making 534 runs.

Wagin’s Brenden Hall had an amazing average of 152.5 in the regular season to easily win the batting average honour.

Toby Leavy, also from Wagin, won the bowling aggregate, taking 18 wickets in the regular season.

Boddington’s Black Reynolds claimed the bowling average title with 8.93 to narrowly edge out teammate Chris Sjoberg (9) and Cuballing’s Dre Butson (9.08).

Blevin was also named under-21 Cricketer of the Year in B-grade.

There were also awards for representative cricket with Kirk named champion player in the UGSCA first team with 261 points while Ben McMillan won the second team champion player with 387 points.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Are you a quiz whiz? Try our 10 questions to find out.

Test yourself against your friends and family to see who knows the most – no …

%d bloggers like this: