Home / World News / Ruby, Ivory win national criterium crowns

Ruby, Ivory win national criterium crowns

Ruby Roseman-Gannon has continued the outstanding start to her professional career and Cameron Ivory’s solo attack has paid off at the Australian road cycling championships.

Roseman-Gannon and Ivory won the elite criterium titles for the first time at Ballarat’s Sturt St circuit on Friday night.

After winning the two Bay Classic criteriums at Geelong on the weekend, Roseman-Gannon was the rider to beat in the women’s race.

The 23-year-old Victorian rode in her Team BikeExchange-Jayco colours for the first time and new teammate Alex Manly gave crucial support in the closing laps.

Manly bridged to the front group of nine riders and then led out Roseman-Gannon for the final sprint.

Roseman-Gannon won the reduced sprint ahead of Josie Talbot and Peta Mullens.

After finishing runner-up in the criterium at the previous two national championships and coming third the year before, this was a particularly sweet win for Roseman-Gannon.

“I’ve wanted this for a very long time, and to finish it off in my first time out in a full BikeExchange kit means so much,” she said.

“I can’t thank Alex Manly enough, she rides for other people all the time. She is the most selfless rider and I couldn’t have done it without her.”

Ivory, who represented Australia in mountain biking at the 2014 Commonwealth Games, attacked on the last lap and stayed away to claim the men’s elite title.

He finished two seconds ahead of Alastair Christie-Johnson, who took second in the bunch sprint of more than 20 riders ahead of Cameron Scott.

“That was definitely unexpected. I came in here not really knowing how the form would be. I know that I’ve done heaps of training into this,” Ivory said.

“I felt a little bit sluggish out there but at the end I had an opportunity to go.

“I’ve actually sort of played that last lap in my mind in the past and I thought if this happens maybe I’ll just have a dig and next thing you know I’m finding myself in that situation.

“That last lap was just a blur for me, I couldn’t believe it was happening.”

Anya Louw finished fourth in the women’s elite race to win the under-23 title after she also took out the time trial championship in that category two days ago.

Earlier on Friday afternoon, Graeme Frislie won the men’s under-23 criterium and Hamish McKenzie and Lucinda Stewart won the junior titles.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Perth Christmas markets to grab your gifts this festive season

Avoid the crowds and shopping centre traffic jams and support local makers at these upcoming …

%d bloggers like this: