Home / World News / Rookies in line for Scotland RL debut

Rookies in line for Scotland RL debut

Australian-born winger Lachlan Walmsley is among six players in line to make their debut for an injury-hit Scotland in Sunday’s clash with Rugby League World Cup qualifiers Jamaica.

Former North Queensland Cowboys NRL premiership players Lachlan Coote and Kane Linnett are among 10 players ruled out of the Bravehearts’ historic first encounter with the Reggae Warriors at Featherstone.

Coote had been set to spearhead Scotland after helping St Helens win the Super League title but has been booked for off-season shoulder surgery before linking with new outfit Hull Kingston Rovers.

The spate of injuries have paved the way for plenty of new faces in coach Nathan Graham’s 20-strong squad including Walmsley who has been rewarded for a sensational season with English Championship outfit Whitehaven, scoring 15 tries.

Walmsley – who qualifies to play for Scotland via family heritage – had been linked to a 2022 move to Super League’s Wigan after turning heads with a season that earned Championship Entertainer of the Year award honours.

However 22-year-old Walmsley instead left Whitehaven to link with Championship outfit Halifax ahead of next season.

Other uncapped players are ex-Scottish Rugby Union under-20s forward Guy Graham – son of former dual international George – along with Charlie Emslie, Batley centre Kieran Buchanan, London Broncos hooker Rob Oakley and York prop Jack Teanby.

“We have a lot of newcomers to the group and I’m looking forward to seeing what they can bring to the mix,” coach Graham said.

Jamaica will be looking to bounce back from their recent 56-4 loss to national feeder team England Knights at Castleford.

“Looking at last weekend’s game I’m sure Jamaica will have a point to prove,” Graham said.

“It’s the ideal test for us and gives us the chance to have a good hit out in preparation for next year’s World Cup.”

Scotland squad: Danny Addy (Salford), James Bell (Leigh), Ryan Brierley (Leigh), Kieran Buchanan (Batley), Davey Dixon (Dewsbury), Charlie Emslie (Barrow), Dale Ferguson (Featherstone, capt), Guy Graham (Whitehaven), Ben Hellewell (Leigh), Liam Hood (Leigh), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Sam Luckley (Salford), Joe McClean (West Wales), Kieran Moran (Keighley), Will Oakes (Dewsbury), Rob Oakley (London Broncos), Jack Teanby (York), Oscar Thomas (Whitehaven), Alex Walker (Wakefield), Lachlan Walmsley (Whitehaven).

About brandsauthority

Check Also

America’s Big City Brain Drain

This transcript was created using speech recognition software. While it has been reviewed by human …

%d bloggers like this: