Home / World News / Power ties Andretti’s IndyCar pole record

Power ties Andretti’s IndyCar pole record

Australian Will Power has tied Mario Andretti for the most poles in IndyCar series history.

The IndyCar points leader achieved the feat after winning pole position for Saturday night’s race at World Wide Technology Raceway.

The 67th pole of Power’s career was won Friday on the short oval outside St Louis.

The Toowoomba-born star turned a lap at 183.089 mph to easily earn the top starting spot for the critical race in the IndyCar championship fight.

Power goes into Saturday night clinging to a six-point lead in the standings over New Zealand’s Scott Dixon, and seven drivers are separated by only 59 points.

In all, 11 drivers remain mathematically eligible to win the championship with three races remaining.

Power’s fourth pole of the season was the one he’s been chasing since 2020, when he finally realised Andretti’s mark was within reach.

“It’s something I’ve had my eye on for a while. I think when I got to 60, I was like ‘this could be possible,'” Power said. “It’s definitely a big box to tick.”

Andretti expects the record to fall soon. Two weeks ago at Nashville, Dixon won for the 63rd time to pass Andretti for second on the all-time list.

“He’s tied now, but he’ll break the record because he wants it bad and knows how to do it,” Andretti wrote on Twitter.

But now that Power has tied the record, he’s turning his attention solely toward the championship fight.

“I’m not feeling any relief because I’m so focused on the race and the championship. I can think about that later and feel good about it,” Power said.

“Right now it’s just so important to have a good car in the race and have a solid day.”

Indianapolis 500 winner Marcus Ericsson, who held the points lead for six races this season, qualified second for Chip Ganassi Racing.

“I think I’ll do everything I possibly can to try and win this championship,” said Ericsson, who is third in points and trails Power by 12.

Ericsson was followed by Power’s teammates at Team Penske, Josef Newgarden and three-time Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin. Newgarden is the defending race winner and 22 points behind Power in the standings in fourth.

IndyCar champion Alex Palou qualified fifth for Ganassi and was followed by teammate Dixon in sixth.

Pato O’Ward of Arrow McLaren SP was seventh as the top seven drivers in the standings swept the top seven spots – four Chevrolets to the three Hondas from Ganassi.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Bunbury Visitor Centre to operate out of both CBD and Koombana Bay in 12-month temporary relocation

The Bunbury Visitor Centre will have two homes for the next 12 months in the …

%d bloggers like this: