Home / World News / More than 50 schools in the Los Angeles area are closed today as multiple wildfires burn

More than 50 schools in the Los Angeles area are closed today as multiple wildfires burn

More than 50 schools in the Los Angeles Unified School District are closed today as firefighters battle multiple blazes in Southern California. All of Santa Monica Malibu Unified is closed, along with many Ventura County schools. All Simi Valley Unified campuses will also be closed Wednesday due to the Rye fire in Santa Clarita.

Students and staff of the following Los Angeles Unified School District campuses were told to stay home:

Schools in Local District West

Community Elementary Magnet Charter School

Kenter Canyon Elementary School

Roscomare Road Elementary

Schools in Local District Northeast 

Apperson Street Elementary School

Brainard Elementary School

Broadous Early Education Center

Broadous Elementary School

Cesar Chavez Learning Academy

Coughlin Elementary School

Dyer Elementary School

El Dorado Elementary School

Evergreen Continuation High School

Fernangeles Elementary School

Gridley Elementary School

Haddon Early Education Center

Haddon Elementary School

Harding Elementary School

Herrick Elementary School

Hubbard Elementary School

Maclay Middle School

Mission Continuation High School

Morningside Elementary School

Mount Gleason Middle School

Mount Lukens Continuation High

Mountain View Elementary School

O’Melveny Elementary School

Olive Vista Middle School

Osceola Elementary School

Pacoima Early Education Center

Pacoima Middle School

Pinewood Avenue Early Education Center

Pinewood Avenue Elementary School

Plainview Academic Charter Academy

San Fernando Early Education Center

San Fernando Elementary School

San Fernando High School

San Fernando Institute of Applied Media

San Fernando Middle School

Sharp Elementary School

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School

Sun Valley High School

Sun Valley Middle School

Sunland Elementary School

Sylmar Elementary School

Sylmar High School/Sylmar Biotech

Sylmar Leadership Academy

Telfair Early Education Center

Telfair Elementary School

Vaughn Early Education Center 

Vena Elementary School

Verdugo Hills Senior High School

Vinedale Elementary School

Vista Del Valle Elementary School

Adult and Career Education Schools

North Valley Occupation Center

The district has also been informed of the following charter school closures. Parents and guardians should check with their school’s charter operator for the most current information.

Alliance Marine-Innovation & Technology 6-12 Complex

Bert Corona Charter School

Bert Corona Charter High School

Discovery Charter Preparatory School

Fenton Avenue Charter School

Fenton Primary Center 

Montague Charter Academy

N.E.W. Academy Canoga Park

Pacoima Charter School

PUC Lakeview Charter Academy

PUC Community Charter Elementary School

PUC Community Charter Middle School

PUC Community Charter Early College High School

PUC Inspire Charter Academy

PUC Nueva Esperanza Charter Academy

PUC Lakeview Charter High School

PUC Triumph Charter Academy

PUC Triumph Charter High School

Valor Academy Elementary School

Valor Academy Middle School

Valor Academy High School


7:56 a.m.: Updated with LAUSD, Santa Monica Malibu Unified and Ventura County school closures.

This post originally published at 11:53 p.m.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Tokyo Olympics: All the Australian action from night 7 of swimming heats

Emma McKeon finished her dream day the way she started it – with an Olympic …

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: