Home / World News / Men’s ODI, T20 World Cups to be expanded

Men’s ODI, T20 World Cups to be expanded

The International Cricket Council has announced the expansion of the men’s ODI World Cup and Twenty20 World Cup, while also reintroducing the Champions Trophy.

The World Cup will become a 14-team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031.

The T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20-team, 55-match tournament every two years from 2024.

The ODI World Cup format will be two groups of seven, with the top three in each group progressing to a Super Six stage, followed by semi-finals and the final.

The announcement reverses the ICC’s decision to cut the field from 14 teams to 10 after the 2015 tournament.

The cut meant the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales took place without the likes of Zimbabwe and Ireland, with qualification harder for teams outside the traditional elite.

The 2023 World Cup in India will remain a 10-team event.

The T20 competition will consist of four groups of five, with the top two from each group going through to a Super Eights stage, before the semi-finals and the final.

The T20 World Cup currently features 16 teams.

Meanwhile, an eight-team Champions Trophy will be held in 2025 and 2029 with two groups of four, semifinals and the final.

It was last held in 2017 in England and won by Pakistan.

About brandsauthority

Check Also

Here Are the Democrats Running for Manhattan D.A.

Here’s a list of the candidates with details on their vision for the office. Tahanie …

%d bloggers like this: